African Centre of Excellence

Africa Centre of Excellence (ACE's) establish under the World Bank funding receive target oriented support and aim for enhancing the post graduate and research education and under taking the research in the academic institutions. ACEs in western, easter and southern Africa are proposed to be supported capacity building through soft knowledge. ACEs have been selected in competitive way by World Bank and their respective government supports them. However the progress of different ACEs vary a lot. Funds are related on the basis of achievement of progress and targets.


Sl No. ACE Name Center Leader Name Email & Contact No.

Eastern Africa

1. ACE in Railway Education and Research at Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia Prof Abrham Gebre abrham_gebre@yahoo.com
+251 0911 691707
2. ACE in Phytochemicals, Textiles and Renewable Energy (PTRE) at Moi University, Kenya Prof Ambrose K. Kiprop ambkiprop@gmail.com
+254(0) 5343363(4)
+254 719 241704
+254 751 477937
+254 762488519
3. ACE in materials, product development and Nano-technology at Makerere University, MAPRONANO, Uganda Prof John Baptist Mukasa Kirabira kirabirajb@gmail.com
+256 414573568
+256 772422738
Prof Michael Lubwama mlubwama@cedat.mak.ac.ug
+256 784 111042
4. ACE in Energy for Sustainable Development at University of Rwanda, Rwanda Prof Etienne Ntagwirumugara etienne.ntagwirumugara@gmail.com
+250 252574696
+250 788353874
5. ACE in water management at Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia Prof Feleke Zewge Beshah fbeshah@yahoo.com
feleke.zewge@aau.edu.et
+251 11 1239466
Mob: +251 911 236985
6. ACE in Water Infrastructure and Sustainable Energy at Nelson Mandela Africa Institution of Science and Technology, Tanzania Prof Hans Komakech hans.komakech@nm-aist.ac.tz
+255 764 821863
Prof Yusufu Abeid Chande Jande yusufu.jande@nm-aist.ac.tz
+255 655 825866
7. ACE in Internet of Things, University of Rwanda, Rwanda Prof Santhi Senthil Kumaran santhikr69@gmail.com
+250 788 594505

Western Africa

8. ACE in Materials at the Africa University of Science and Technology (AUST), Nigeria Prof Azikiwe Peter ONWUALU, Center Leader aonwualu@aust.edu.ng
+234 80 37432497
Prof Shola Odusanya shola2@hotmail.com
+234 80 55154949
+234 80 34513549
+234 80 37432497
9. ACE in Water and Environmental Sanitation at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), Ghana Prof Samuel Nii Odai, Center Leader snodai@yahoo.com
+233 24 479 7711
10. International Institute of Water and Environmental Engineering (2iE) (Burkina Faso) French Prof Harouna KARAMBIRI, Center Leader harouna.karambiri@2ie-edu.org
+226 25492800
+226 25492873
+226 78758077
11. ACE in Mathematics, Informatics, and ICT at University of Gaston Berger, Senegal Prof Ousmane THIARE, Center Leader ousmane.thiare@ugb.edu.sn
+221 33 961 19 06
Prof Ahmadou Bamba SOW Coordonnateur Adjoint ahmadou-bamba.sow@ugb.edu.sn
ceamitic@ugb.edu.sn
12. Obafemi Awolowo University, ICT Driven Knowledge park Nigeria Prof Aderounmu Adesola, Center leader gaderoun@yahoo.com
+234 8035177940

The aim of ACE-I and ACE-II are to achieve and to promote regional specoalization among participating universities in areas that address specific common regional development challenges. The ACE-II targets by the end of project, number of students and female students enrolled in ACEs masters and PhD programs.