7th National Workshop on Research Methodology in Fluid Mechanics | Date: June 13-17, 2022


FMFP - 2022

The 9th International and 49th National conference of Fluid Mechanics and Fluid Power (FMFP-2022) will be held at the Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, from December 14-16, 2022. The National Society for Fluid Mechanics and Fluid Power is a registered Society started by Prof. Subir Kar, IIT Bombay, in 1973. Since then, it has been functioning successfully over the last 49 years and has organized the annual conference at different venues in India with participation from academia, R&D sectors, and industries. The conference aims to bring together national and international experts on a common platform and share state-of-the-art on various topics related to fluid mechanics and fluid power. The conference covers all aspects of fluid mechanics, both theoretical and experimental. The topics include the fundamental aspects of fluid mechanics such as flow instability, transition, turbulence, and its control. It also covers fluid machinery, turbomachinery and fluid power, IC engines and gas turbines, multiphase flows, fluid-structure interaction, flow-induced noise, micro and nanofluid mechanics, bio-inspired fluid mechanics, energy, environment, etc. Special topics related to manufacturing and materials processing, granular flows, nuclear reactor, thermal hydraulics, space engineering will also be covered. The society conducts an annual conference as well as one workshop every year. The previous edition of the international conference was held at IIT Guwahati in 2020.

IIT Roorkee

Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee is the successor of University of Roorkee and thus it is the oldest technical institution of the country established as the Roorkee College of Engineering in 1847 and rechristened as Thomason College of Civil Engineering in 1857. It was elevated to the first Technical University of Independent India on November 25, 1949. In the year 2001, University of Roorkee was declared as the Institute of national importance and converted into Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IITR) on September 21, 2001. The Department of Mechanical Engineering came into being in the year 1946 and the first batch of Mechanical Engineers was graduated in the year 1949. The Department was renamed as Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering on the silver jubilee year i.e. in 1974 when an undergraduate programme in Industrial Engineering was started. At present the Department offers both undergraduate and postgraduate courses in various facets of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering. The Department offers Master of Technology courses in Machine Design Engineering, Production and Industrial Systems Engineering, Thermal System Engineering, and Welding Engineering. The Department has also started M.Tech programme in CAD, CAM and Robotics from the year 2005. The Department has laboratory and workshop facilities with modern sophisticated equipment to carry out research in all areas related to Mechanical and Production & Industrial Engineering. The faculty actively participates in sponsored research and consultancy work. Click here to know more

Important Dates

  • 30th
    Sep, 2022
    Submission of full length paper
    (Final deadline, no further change)
  • 18th
    Oct, 2022
    Author(s) notification after
  • 28th
    Oct, 2022
    Final Paper
  • 31st
    Oct, 2021
    Notification of final acceptance
  • 07th
    Nov, 2022
    Early bird registration
  • 25th
    Nov, 2022
    Last date of Registration

To know more about IIT Roorkee

Visit our website

Conference Themes

Fundamentals Issues and Perspective in Fluid Mechanics
Measurement Techniques in Fluid Mechanics
Computational Fluid and Gas Dynamics
Instability, Transition and Turbulence
Fluid-structure Interaction
Bio-inspired Fluid Mechanics
Multiphase Flows
Propulsion and Power

Speakers at FMFP 2022


Prof. Kerry Hourigan

Monash University, Australia

Prof. Rajat Mittal

John Hopkins University, USA

Prof. Perumal Nithiarasu

Swansea University, UK

Prof. Shripad Revankar

Purdue University, USA

Prof. Partha P Mukherjee

Purdue University, USA

Prof. Danesh Tafti

Virginia Tech, USA

Prof. Jaywant Arakeri

IISc, Bangalore

Prof. An-Bang Wang

National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Prof. Gretar Tryggvason

Johns Hopkins University, USA

Prof. Neil Sandham

University of Southampton

Dr. Venkatakrishnan L.

CSIR - NAL, Bangalore

Prof. Chunning Ji

Tianjin University, China

Prof. Toshiro Matsumoto

Nagoya University, Japan

Prof. Eldad Avital

Queen Mary University of London, UK

Prof. Detlef Lohse

University of Twente, Netherlands

Prof. Pradipta K Panigrahi

IIT Kanpur

Prof. John Williams

Queen Mary Univ. of London, UK

Paper Submission

Full Length Paper Submission: Click here to submit your paper using Easychair Portal

Full Length Paper Templates for Conference Proceedings
The purpose of the conference template for full length paper is to provide a consistent format for papers appearing in the conference proceedings. The paper must be restricted to a maximum of 6 pages and the abstract should be limited to 200 words. It is expected that all the submissions will contain original work and overall similarity index should be limited to 20%. Authors of selected high-quality papers will be invited later to submit extended version to special issues of referred journals.
Mircrosoft Word template for full length paper: Click Here
LaTeX template for full length paper: Click Here

The following proceeding/book/journals have been selected for publication of conference papers:
Sadhana, Springer
Journal of Flow Visualization and Image Processing, Begell House Inc. USA.
Applied Sciences & Engineering-Springer

Organizing Committee


Prof. Ajit K Chaturvedi

Director, IIT Roorkee

Prof. Andallib Tariq

HoD MIED, IIT Roorkee

Prof. Krishna M. Singh

MIED, IIT Roorkee

Prof. Sushanta Dutta

Organizing Secretary
MIED, IIT Roorkee

Prof. Sudhakar Subudhi

Organizing Secretary
MIED, IIT Roorkee

Prof. Nikhil Kumar Singh

Joint Organising Secretary
MIED, IIT Roorkee

Gallery/Places to Visit

IIT Roorkee is located at the foothills of Himalayan range of Uttarakhand, India. It is known for army cantonment, Ganga Canal and formerly University of Roorkee. Notable places to visit around include Patanjali Yogpeeth, Haridwar, Rishikesh, Dehradun, Mussoorie and Rajaji National Park. In addition, industrial visits to “Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL)” and “Hindustan Unilever” shall be arranged. Interested delegates/participants must register for the tour/industrial visit at the time of registering for the Conference. The host will facilitate these tours/visits and the expenses towards transportation, entry fee, etc., will be borne by individuals.

Vibrant Rishikesh


Serene Dehradun


Mystic Mussorrie


Rajaji National Park


Patanjali Yogpeeth

@12 KMS


@25 km



Convenor FMFP-2022

  • Name: Prof. K.M. Singh
  • Address:Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, IIT Roorkee, Roorkee-247667
  • Mail: fmfp2022@iitr.ac.in
  • Phone: +91-1332-285414
  • Website: Click here

Organizing Secretary

  • Name: Prof. Sudhakar Subudhi
  • Address:Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, IIT Roorkee, Roorkee-247667
  • Mail: fmfp2022@iitr.ac.in
  • Phone: +91-1332-284763
  • Website: Click here

Organizing Secretary

  • Name: Prof. Sushanta Dutta
  • Address:Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, IIT Roorkee, Roorkee-247667
  • Mail: fmfp2022@iitr.ac.in
  • Phone: +91-1332-285410
  • Website: Click here