The symposium organized by IIT Roorkee is the fifteenth in the series of biennial meetings. It aims to focus on the current status and future projections of research in various frontier areas of inorganic chemistry. Generally, participation is by invitation from India and abroad.

Topics to be covered

Transition metal (d & f blocks) chemistry
Main group chemistry
Bioinorganic chemistry
Solid state and materials chemistry
Supramolecular chemistry & metal clusters
Organometallics and catalysis
Computational Chemistry


Confirmed Speakers
  • Prof. Munetaka Akita
    Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Prof. John F. Berry
    University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • Prof. Pierre H. Dixneuf
    University of Rennes1, France
  • Prof. Shunichi Fukuzumi
    Osaka University, Japan
  • Prof. Martha Greenblatt
    Rutgers University, USA
  • Prof. Duncan H. Gregory
    University of Glasgow, UK
  • Prof. Shinobu Itoh
    Osaka University, Japan
  • Prof. Pradip K. Mascharak
    University of California, Santa Cruz, USA
  • Prof. Nils Metzler-Nolte
    Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
  • Prof. Wonwoo Nam
    Ewha Womans University, South Korea
  • Prof. Antonio Rosato
    University of Florence, Italy
  • Prof. Martin Schroder
    University of Nottingham, UK
  • Dr. Y. Shiro RIKEN
    Spring-8 Center, Japan
  • Prof. Vlada B. Urlacher
    Heinrich-Heine-Universitat, Germany
  • Prof. J. B. Baruah
    IIT Guwahati, Guwahati
  • Prof. V. Chandrasekhar
    TIFR, Hyderabad
  • Prof. T. K. Chandrashekar
    NISER, Bhubaneswar
  • Prof. A. K. Ganguly
    IIT Delhi, Delhi
  • Prof. S. Goswami
    IACS, Kolkata
  • Prof. N. S. Islam
    Tezpur University, Tezpur
  • Dr. V. K. Jain
    BARC, Mumbai
  • Prof. E. D. Jemmis
    IISc, Bangalore
  • Prof. K. C. Kumara Swamy
    Univ. of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
  • Dr. M. Lakshmi Kantam
    IICT, Hyderabad
  • Dr. T. K. Maji
    JNCASR, Jakkur, Bangalore
  • Prof. S. Mazumdar
    TIFR, Mumbai
  • Prof. Samaresh Mitra
    IICB, Kolkata
  • Prof. S. Natarajan
    SSCU, IISc, Bangalore
  • Prof. D. S. Pandey
    BHU, Varanasi


Registration can be made online at symposium website or by sending attached registration form.

Registration fee has to be paid by demand draft or by electronic transfer on or before 15 October 2013.

On or After
Student Rs. 3,500 Rs. 4,000
Faculty member/Scientist Rs. 6,000 Rs. 7,000
Industrial Delegate Rs. 10,000 Rs. 12,000

The registration fee is inclusive of accommodation charges only for invited speakers, chairpersons and poster presenters. Kindly pay registration fee in advance in favor of “Registrar, IIT Roorkee" and payable at Punjab National Bank (PNB), Roorkee. Electronic Transfer is to be done to the account: “Registrar, IIT Roorkee” PNB A/c No. 4044000100148042, Punjab National Bank, IIT Roorkee, Roorkee- 247667. IFSC Code: PUNB0404400.


Total area: 20 x 15 cm (A4 Size)
TITLE in capital letters (Times New Roman, font size 14) followed by names of Authors (in bold, font size 12), affiliation(s) (in italics font size 12) with the e-mail address of the main author. Main text: Times New Roman, font size 12. Software: word 2003 or 2007. See the template in the symposium website. Submit your abstract in the form of word doc file through online at the conference site or via e-mail to to the Convener. Last date for receipt of abstracts: August 31, 2013.
Posters selected for presentation will be informed by September 30, 2013.
All invited lectures will be published in the Journal of Chemical Sciences that is published joints by Indian Academy of Sciences and Springer. The format for the presentation of manuscript of lectures is available on the journal website:
All the invited speakers are required to submit their manuscript (perspective or research article format) by October 15, 2013.