The Indian Society of Earthquake Technology (ISET) came into being in November 1962 with Late Prof. Jai Krishna as the founding President and was registered in December 1964 under Society's Registration Act 1961. The aims and objectives of the Society are as follows:

  1. To promote research, development and awareness work in the field of Earthquake Technology.
  2. To provide necessary forum for scientists and engineers of various specialization to come together and exchange ideas on the problems of Earthquake Technology.
  3. To disseminate knowledge in the field of Earthquake Technology dealing -with scientific and engineering aspects.
  4. To honour pioneering and meritorious contributions in- the field of Earthquake Technology.

The Society started publishing a periodical entitled 'Bulletin of the Indian Society of Earthquake Technology" from 1964. This Bulletin continued as a half-yearly publication till 1966 and started a quarterly publication in 1967. The name of the Bulletin has been changed to "ISET JOURNAL OF EARTHQUAKE TECHNOLOGY" from March, 1998 In addition to the Journal, the Society also publishes a quarterly News Letter. It has also published a number of books that further its aims and objectives. In particular, the Society has published a Catalogue of Earthquakes in India and its Neighbourhood and reprinted a "Manual of Earthquake Resistant Non-Engineered Construction".

The Society has been organizing the ISET Annual Lecture by an eminent scientist, distinguished engineer, or expert. The previous one was delivered by Prof. S.K. Singh, Instituto de Geofisica, Universidad, Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM), Mexico City, Mexico. The Society evoked wide interest right from its inception. The current membership of the Society, which includes Individual Fellows and Members as well as Institution Members, stands at 1500. Since its inception, the Society has been involved in the organization of four yearly Symposia in Earthquake Engineering. Apart from these, the Society has been involved in the organization of several conferences including the Sixth World Conference on Earthquake Engineering held in New Delhi in 1977. It is also engaged in various activities directed towards creation of awareness about earthquake and earthquake engineering in general -public as well as scientific/engineering communities. The Society also organizes short term training courses dealing with earthquake technology from time to time.

The recent Bhuj earthquake of January 26, 2001 with a magnitude 6.9 was the largest earthquake to occur in India since its independence in 1947. As such, the society organized a special 3 days Workshop on "Recent Earthquakes of Chamoli and Bhuj" in Roorkee from May 24-26, 2001. This Workshop had participation of 98 delegates including representatives from 47 organizations and a total of 60 technical presentations were made covering different themes during the Workshop. Recently, the Society has organized 4-yearly Symposium "13th Symposium on Earthquake Engineering" jointly with the Department of Earthquake Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee during December 18-20, 2006. The ISET is a founder member of the International Association for Earthquake Engineering (IAEE) and represents India on this World Forum dealing with various-aspects of earthquake engineering. The Society is represented by the President as the National Delegate and the Vice-President as the Deputy National Delegate in the General Assembly of Delegates of the IAEE. In view of his distinguished service to Earthquake Engineering, Prof. Jai Krishna was elected as an Honorary Member of the IAEE. Professor Krishna has also served the IAEE as its President. A number of ISET-Members have served on the Executive Committee of the IAEE. ISET Honorary Fellow Late Prof. Jai Krishna was elected as Legend of Earthquake Engineering in the meeting of IAEE .during 14th World Conference on Earthquake Engineering at Beijing, P.R. China. The ISET has a role in formulation of various Indian Standard Codes of Practice related to earthquake engineering. The President of ISET is represented on the relevant committee responsible for drafting this code.