institute
About
Convocation
Our Heritage
Luminaries
150 Years
Geography
Institute Time Capsule
History
How to reach IIT Roorkee
Governing Acts
List of Holidays
IITR Home
 List of Holidays
SL. Holidays Date Day of Week
1.
Republic Day
January 26
Saturday
2. Maha Shivratri March 04 Monday
3. Holi March 21 Thursday
4.
Mahavir Jayanti April 17 Wednesday
5. Good Friday April 19 Friday
6. Buddha Purnima May 18 Saturday
7. Idu'I Fiter* June 05 Wednesday
8 Idu'l Zuha (Bakrid)* August 12 Monday
9 Independence Day August 15 Thursday
10 Ganesh Chaturthi September 02 Monday
11. Moharram* September 10 Tuesday
12.
Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday October 02 Wednesday
13. Dussehra (Vijay Dashmi) October 08 Tuesday
14. Diwali (Deepawali) October 27 Sunday
15.
Govardhan Puja October 28 Monday
16. Bhai Duj October 29 Tuesday
17. Milad-Un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad)* November 10 Sunday
18.
Guru Nanak's Birthday November 12 Tuesday
19. Christmas Day December 25 Wednesday

* Subject to change on visibility of Moon. In the event of any change in the date(s) of the above holiday(s) announced by the Govt. of India through the media. (T.V / AIR / Newspaper etc.) depending upon visibility of the Moon, the institute shall automatically observe the subject holiday(s) accordingly and no notice in this regard shall be issued.

This has the approval of Competent  Authority.