HEC, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee


The Mountaineering & Trekking Club founded in 1971 was the forerunner of the Himalayan Explorers' Club (HEC). Between 1971 & 1974 the Institute Sports Association nurtured the Mountaineering & Trekking Club which fostered all mountaineering, trekking and outward bound activities amongst science, engineering and professional student community of the Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee.

In July 1975 the first major high altitude expedition in the Himalayas was organized successfully in joint collaboration with the Nainital Mountaineering Club, Nainital. With effect from the academic session of 1975-76 , the Mountaineering and Trekking Club was rechristened as the Himalayan Explorers' Club (HEC). Between July 1976 and August 1977 , the HEC organized a series of three major expeditions in the Garhwal Himalayas (to Mt. Rudragaigra (19500 ft) in July 1976, to Mt. Thelu (20,000 ft) in October 1976 and to Mt. Kedar Dome (23,000 ft) in June 1977) in which as many as 35 students of the University of Roorkee participated.

With effect from the academic session of 1978-79 , the Himalayan Explorers' Club was accorded the status of a separate functional body . As an independent body, HEC, was restructured and to start with had three different sections:

  • The High Adventure Center

  • The Region Development Center

  • The Conditioning And Training Center

In its enlarged form as of today, HEC encompasses three more sections. They are:

  • he Unarmed Combat Training Section

  • The Rovering Section

  • The Rangering Section

In addition to organizing mountaineering and high altitude trekking expeditions, rock and ice craft training camps, HEC has during the last ten years pioneered in the field of organizing a new generation of Himalayan expeditions which seek to combine high adventure feats with a whole range of specialized creative endeavors in the Himalayas.

For more details, click Here.

# # # # # | # # #
Credits : Information Management Group, IIT Roorkee
Copyright © , All Rights Reserved, Institute Computer Centre, IIT Roorkee.