Proceedings of the AMPCO-2022 conference will be published in Springer Nature. More details will follow soon.

About AMPCO'22

AMPCO'22 will be the third international conference in the series of AMPCO conferences organized previously in 2012 and 2017. This edition of the conference is special as IIT Roorkee is celebrating 175 years of existence as well as the year 2022 marks the diamond jubilee of the Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering. AMPCO-2022 will cover the following broad themes: Advanced Materials Processing, Advanced Steel Technology and Materials for Sustainability. The conference aims to bring together top researchers and policy makers in academia as well as industry from India and abroad. It will also feature hands-on workshops and tutorials for the benefit of students.

Plenary Speakers

Prof. Animesh Jha
University of Leeds
Dr. Debashish Bhattacharjee
VP, New Mat. Bus. , Tata Steel
Prof. Indradev Samajdar
IIT Bombay

Invited Speakers

Prof. Alankar Alankar
IIT Bombay
Prof. Amartya Mukhopadhyay
IIT Bombay
Prof. Amit Arora
IIT Gandhinagar
Prof. Anandh Subramaniam
IIT Kanpur
Prof. Anirban Patra
IIT Bombay
Prof. Amritendu Roy
IIT Bhubaneshwar
Prof. Chandan Srivastava
IISC Bangalore
Prof. Debalay Chakrabarti
IIT Kharagpur
Prof. G G Roy
IIT Kharagpur
Prof. K K Pant
IIT Delhi
Prof. Krishanu Biswas
IIT Kanpur
Prof. Kundu
Dr. D.K. Singh
Prof. N K Mukhopadhyay
Prof. Nurni N Viswanathan
IIT Bombay
Dr. Pradip
Prof. Praveen Kumar
IISC Bangalore
Dr. Ritesh Ruhela
Prof. V.S. Sarma
IIT Madras
Prof. Sudhanshu Shekhar
Prof. Supriya Bera
NIT Durgapur
Dr. Vinod Kumar
Dr. Monojit Dutta
Tata Steel
Prof. B.R.K. Nanda
IIT Madras
Prof. N.P. Gurao
IIT Kanpur
Prof. R. Kottada
IIT Madras
Prof. S. Sankaran
IIT Madras
Prof. G. Phanikumar
IIT Madras
Prof. Janki Ram
IIT Hyderabad
Prof. Murugaiyan A
IIT Madras
Prof. K. Chatterjee
IISc Bangalore
Prof. Satyam Suwas
IISc Bangalore
Prof. S.B. Singh
IIT Kharagpur
Prof. Atharva Poundarik
IIT Ropar
Dr. G. Tennyson
Prof. V. Balakrishnan
IIT Mandi
Prof. A.K. Keshri
IIT Patna
Prof. Sabita Sarkar
IIT Madras
Prof. Rowthu Sriharitha
IIT Gandhinagar
Prof. Kanwar S Nalwa
IIT Kanpur
Prof. Shikhar Mishra
IIT Kanpur
Prof. Subhasis Sinha

AMPCO'22 Themes

The event will have an impact on three major areas where capability is to be enhanced: manufacturing technologies, materials engineering - metals and alloys, and sustainability and resource efficiency. AMPCO'22 will boost the current digital revolution in materials science-informed manufacturing. The conference will be focused broadly on the following themes,

Advanced Materials Processing: This theme will focus on advances in the cutting edge metal processing techniques such as, additive manufacturing, friction stir welding and processing, thermomechanical processing, severe plastic deformation.

Advanced Steel Technology: The focus of this theme will be to address the steel industry issues pertaining to the development of advanced steel catering to the needs of India with emphasis on new age alloy design, mechanical behavior, hydrogen embrittlement, corrosion etc.

Materials for Sustainability: Metal recycling, energy storage materials, energy conversion, green iron making technologies will be the focus of this theme. It will discuss the topics related to sustainable development goals-2030 such as close loop recycling, CO2 emission, clean fuel etc.

Event Schedule

Important Dates

Registration opens
1 June, 2022
Abstract submission deadline
22 July, 2022
Abstract decision
31 July, 2022
Early bird registration deadline
5 September, 2022
Regular registration deadline
15 September, 2022
Conference dates
17-19 October, 2022
Full paper submission
30 November, 2022

Paper Submission

Registration Fee (INR)
Early Bird Normal
Delegates (Academic) 5000/- 6000/-
Delegates (Non-academic) 7500/- 9000/-
Foreign Delegates USD 250 USD 250
Students 2000/- 2500/-

Register to AMPCO

** It is mandatory to complete the payment process before registering **

Travel and Accommodation

Chief Patron

Prof. K.K. Pant

Director, IIT Roorkee

Local Advisory Committee

Organizing Committee

Prof. Sumeet Mishra

Organizing Secretary

Prof. Anish Karmakar

Joint Secretary

Prof. Nikhil Dhawan


Event Sponsors